Government of India (भारत सरकार) Ministry of Railways (रेल मंत्रालय) (Railway Board) (रेलवे बोर्ड)

No.2021/TG-I/20/P/2

New Delhi, dated /0.02.2021

General Managers, All Zonal Railways.

Sub: Abbreviations for different types of coaches.

Please refer to this office letter no. 206/TG-I/20/P dated 20.02.2007 (CC No. 13 of 2007) wherein abbreviations of different types of coaches were circulated to all zonal Railways. Subsequently, Anubhuti class coaches were introduced which were given the code EA. Recently a new type of coaches known as Vistadome coach have been introduced. It has been decided that these coaches may be given the code 'EV'. It has also been decided that in the computerized PRS also the code for this coach will be 'EV' instead of 'TE' as advised earlier vide this office letter of even number dated 15.01.2021. Hence, now the abbreviation for different types of coaches will be as under:

Class	Abbreviation
1 st AC	Н
AC 2 tier	Α
	В
AC 3 tier	С
AC Chair Car 2 S class/Day journey reserved second class coaches of	D
2 S class/Day journey reserved second class couches of	
Intercity Trains	E
Executive Class	EA
Anubhuti Class	EV
Vistadome	F
First Class	-
Garib Rath AC-3 tier	G
Garib Rath Chair Car	J
Sleeper	S

2. Necessary instructions may be issued to all concerned accordingly.

(Neeraj Sharma)

Executive Director Passenger Marketing Railway Board

(Vinay Srivastava) Executive Director Mechanical Engineering (Coaching) Railway Board

Copy to:

- 1. PCCMs, PCMEs & PCSTEs all Zonal Railways.
- 2. MD/IRCTC, B 148,11th Floor, Statesman House, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi-110001
- 3. MD/CRIS & General Manager/PRS, CRIS, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi.
- 4. DG, Professor/Training & Professor/Commercial Railway Staff College, Vadodara.
- 5. ED/Tele, EDV(T), EDFC, Railway Board.
- 6. The Principals, Zonal Railway Training Institutes, Central Railway/Bhusawal, Eastern Railway/Bhuli-Dhanbad, Northern Railway/Chandausi, East Central railway/Muzaffarpur, NF Railway/Alipurduar, Southern Railway/Trichy, South Central Railway/Moula Ali, SE Railway/Sini, North Western Railway/Udaipur.
- 7. Director, Indian Railway Institute of Transport Management, Hardoi Bypass Road, Manak Nagar, Lucknow-2260011.
- 8. General Secretary, National Federation of Indian Railwaymen (NFIR), 3, Chelmsford Road, New Delhi.
- 9. General Secretary, All India Railwaymen Federation (AIRF), 4, State Entry Road, New Delhi.
- 10.Secretary General, Federation of Railway Officers Association (FROA), Room No.370, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 11.Secretary General, Indian Railways Promotee Officers Federation (IRPOF), Room No. 268, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 12.Secretary General, All India RPF Association, Room No. 256-D, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 13.CTM, Metro Railway, Metro Rail Bhawan, 33/1, J.L. Nehru Road, Kolkata-71.
